Paris by Nokia Phone

24112012019

Le tour effiel. Every hour, it sparkles with a million flashbulbs (not pictured).

Because Paris is wonderful and iphones are silly. Nothing beats Nokia phone cameras in the City of Light.

Musee D'Orsay

Musee D’Orsay: this photograph might be illegal

Actually, I just forgot to bring my usual camera (a ‘vintage’ Canon Powershot 550 which I sat on and broke the preview screen of in 2009) …. to Paris. As the tgv flew (and I mean really flew) over the rolling, dusky farmland between Geneva and Paris, I realized with a sinking heart that it would be just me and my CERN issued Nokia. C’est la vie.

26112012034

An obelisk made out of stuff that Napoleon plundered.

AL, my flatmate from the summer, was a most excellent hostess and dedicated tour guide. I saw more than I ever would have even known to see on my own, didn’t have to worry about getting lost on the metro, had a real (delicious) French dinner at a restaurant called ‘Il vino’ (ha!) and even got to hear a bit about the history and development of the city from a Parisian engineer (that would be AL).

26112012029

Notre Dame de Paris

I had been in Notre Dame once before: the first, brief time I was in Paris we stumbled upon a free organ concert. But of course, once is never enough!

25112012025

View out one of the clockfaces in Orsay. In Real Life, one could just make out Montmarte and Sacre Coeur in the distance.

25112012027

Art lovers recline on the very mod furniture in Musee D’Orsay

By the way, if you ever find yourself in Paris and are a resident of the EU under the age of 26 you have simply to show your residence card and you can get into all museums and most attractions for free. Protip: If you have a Carte Français for the purpose and function of working at CERN (as I happened to have) this trick also applies. Imagine my glee walking in and out of Orsay and le Lourve as a French Resident, and getting to view some of the world’s art treasures, tout gratuit! Vive le France!

26112012035

Approaching Place Voges, the prior residence for Victor Hugo!

“I love le Meré because you can just walk around and punch open doors and walk into historical buildings.” And, indeed, you can!

26112012031

Walking under the metro

Paris is ‘like swiss cheese’ (Emmental! Not Gruyère!) full of holes containing trains and secrets and people.

26112012030

Bonjour, and Welcome to the River Seine!

My Nokia phone did quite well by me and Paris. And to be honest, in the age of facebook, instagram (now owned by facebook), and internet oversharing, I was quite content to be armed with only my humble Nokia. Sometimes I feel we forget to see the world for our camera lenses, for our phones and tablets and even our DSLRs. Since I could hardly even see the tiny screen of my Nokia, you can bet I had plenty room to see all the rest.

thank you AL and family for the weekend in your beautiful city! I could not have asked for a more wonderful albeit whirlwind tour. Hopefully I will be back again someday!

Tags:

One Response to “Paris by Nokia Phone”

  1. michael9murray Says:

    To each its own use! Or is it the skill of the user?

Leave a Reply

