Race Report: Stanford Short track

I went hard up the hill the first time, then I just kept going hard and didn’t pull the breaks on the downhill. After the first lap, no one was ahead of me…or even behind me. Wait a minute, I thought. Surely, this has never happened to me before. I was at first perplexed, at second amazed, and at third inspired. Pin it to win it (and not by default)!

After the race we stopped, setting sun be damned, at a pumpkin patch in the Salinas Valley, a long and narrow swale between two ranges of mountains, and the Salinas River winds and twists up it until it falls at last in Monterey Bay…

Long live the Mountain Bike, and long live California, my most beloved!

Leave a Reply

