Prose is Hard

Creative writing class, week one:

I turn in a piece of fiction meant to emulate a scene from Faulkner’s “The Sound and the Fury.”  The professor is confused. When I explain how it’s like, supposed to be like Faulkner and all, the boys with square glasses start to come out and say they, actually, quite liked it. This is all well enough for me, as the approval of people wearing square glasses is all I ever really aim for in all endeavors semi-artistic. No one in the class, however, gets the reference to HC Andersen’s “The Little Mermaid.” I’m partially heartbroken and partially relieved.

Creative writing class, week two:

I attempt to use a linear storyline, a relateable main character, and  lyrics to Cowboy songs. I try to write sentences instead of lines, paragraphs instead of stanzas, and choose words for grammatical and logical coherence rather than just purely sound. I end up writing something I’m not too fond of. But the professor absolutely loves it. “What did you do different this week from last week?” he asks.

Later on in the class, I explain how I really liked one of my classmate’s pieces because I could really understand and relate to the main character’s almost uncontrollable obsession with finishing a somewhat mundane project. The author later reveals that said character is meant to be schizophrenic. I’m somewhat perturbed.

Creative writing class, week three:

I spend all morning mountain biking with Sabrina in Marin (via the technical prowess of KP) and don’t start writing until three hours before the deadline. All I can think to do is recast a scene that’s been playing in my head, but that must have also existed somewhere within an Ingemar Bergman film at some point. I decide to run with it. I set my story in a very cold place and name my character Lena. There’s lots of bleakness and introspection. I had to restrain myself from writing parts of it in Swedish. I’ve apparently also sunk back into back to nonlinear time, grammatical disaster, and depressing, psuedo-demonic themes. My teacher’s gonna love it, and my classmates are definitely NOT going to think I’m insane.

4 Responses to “Prose is Hard”

  1. Sabrina Says:

    The only impression of Ingemar Bergman I have is that scarring film we watched at Sherm. I hope your story doesn’t contain too many similar elements. But I’m sure it’s lovely. 😉

  2. tornspira Says:

    psychosis: check.
    Self mutilation: No way. Can’t handle it.

  3. cherryandcinnamon Says:

    I stumbled upon your blog by accident and your adventures in creative writing are very amusing and making me smile. You have a humour that very self effacing, which is charming, but making me somewhat relived I’m reading about your writing and not the writing itself 😉
    I definitely think you should persevere!

    • tornspira Says:

      Haha, thanks. Yet, funnily enough, by reading ‘about’ my writing, you are in fact reading my writing whether you like it or not, since I wrote it. Tricked you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

