“Urban” running

Alternate title could be: Why my Neighborhood, Jonction, is the Best Neighborhood in Geneva. Jonction is located at the junction (get it! get it!) or rather confluence of  the Arve and the Rhone rivers. Le Rhone, flowing fresh out of the Alpine waters of Lake Geneva is a surreal shade of turquoise and startlingly clear. L’Arve arrives having wound its way through miles upon miles of countryside and is brown turquoise, the sediment of agrarian Switzerland tilled up in its currents. I live on the semi peninsula where the two rivers meet, and a five minute jog from my apartment yields such visions of pastoral resplendence:

Life in beautiful places without a bike, is, for the spoiled and bike crazy among us, a misery. Hence begins the quest to find other things to amuse myself with. After a few days of experimental trail blazing in Jonction, I came across the greenbelt along the banks of the Rhone and flush against cliffs of conglomerate glacial till. Oh glaciers. Shapers of Heaven on Earth.

 

So no bike, yet. Hence, goal for this summer: Become a good runner (something I haven’t been since high school Lacrosse, if ever.) Other goal for this summer: Rent a downhill bike and ride down an Alp. At least once. More on that later. But for now, I will learn to love running. Luckily for me, I have Le Rhone to keep my pace and mark my course.

“World is mind!” the graffiti reads. A place to be pensive. A place to spontaneously jump in the river on a warm afternoon. (Oh yeah.)

Notice the greenish flow intruding into the river in the upper left of the photo, it is the remainder of the tilled up sediment brought in by L’Arve at the confluence. In Real Life, the difference between the two rivers is actually quite visible.

I like to stand at this point along the river, waiting for a train to go by on the bridge. When one finally comes, if one finally comes, I yell “tååååååååget!”  whilst jumping up and down and waving my arms. the rush of the passing trains drowns out the sound of my childish screaming, so I’m sure I ‘m no bother to the hippie kids camping nearby but just out of sight. As for the people on the train, I can only hope that they’ll see me and be ever so slightly amused.

Running up the trail, it is possible to gain enough elevation to actually be able to cross the bridge and run back along the opposite bank of the river. In the distance there is the white gleam of Geneva, and in the further distance, the blue purple feet of the mountains. the trail back along the opposite bank is a little more technical, with some sections I cerntainly would not attempt on a mountain bike, or even run. Also visible is the previously mentioned U shaped glacial valley, which is a formation I recently learned is called Savéle. Apparently it can be hiked. Next day off, maybe?

……………

on a side note:

http://www.scientificamerican.com/article.cfm?id=antiatoms-alpha-1000-seconds

 

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to ““Urban” running”

  1. mosmoothie Says:

    soooooo jealous
    this is beautiful
    will we be running together back in california????????

Leave a Reply

