Be Happy!

I just did an audition in two languages. What a rush.

I don’t want to tell you too much about it—superstition is a very important part of theatrics, you see.

On a whim and a suggestion from Annika H. I signed up to audition for “Var Glad Spex” or “Be Happy Spex”- one of the many musical comedy groups here in Lund.

The interview in Swedish went well. Easy questions, like: how old are you? (I knew that one!).

The monologue and scene (in Swedish) went well too- I only fumbled once and they let me read from the paper. I had ’em laughing.

The singing- well- um I have been sick the last couple of days. Let’s just say that my singing voice, like my Swedish, is not top notch. On the plus side the guy gave me my starting tone on a Melodica—which made me sort of die laughing on the inside.

And the improv…well, they let me do it in English. They were laughing, so I think I was funny. But I wasn’t Swedish. Dang!

At last they asked me if I had any special party tricks-like weird talents or if I was double-joined or something.

Talents? Well, I said, I can speak English REALLY REALLY well.

I don’t expect to be chosen, but like always, the audition was worth it for the experience. Var Glad?! Ja, det är jag!

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “Be Happy!”

  1. KP Says:

    Arielle: I am glad you have a blog.

    Also: is this your bike? http://www.csmonitor.com/var/ezflow_site/storage/images/media/images/csm-photo-galleries-images/photos-of-the-day-images/2010/0209/04/7370303-1-eng-US/04_full_600.jpg

    See you soon!

    • tornspira Says:

      Haha I wish that were my bike. It would probably be better than the one I have now.

      and…. “See you soon!”… whaaat? really?

Leave a Reply

