Bread: Gammelsurbrød, round 2

IMG_2849

This was my breakfast. The all rye-meal gammelsurbrød that I thought I had killed eventually turned out to be pretty good. Very sour. I mean, it really put the “sur” in gammelsurbrød. It is likely the most potent rye I have made throughout this entire arbitrary obsession. That’s because it had a long time to ferment—this bread was over 24 hours in the making—and the dough smelled pretty much like alcohol when I put it in the oven.

Bread starters are semi-frightening because they are very much alive. They get all bubbly-like and ferment-y, they rise and fall (like breathing), and they sometimes can learn to recognize simple words and phrases. Basically, they develop the intelligence level of a human infant, or a really dumb toddler.

While the last part of that paragraph was utter nonsense, it is true that bread starters are finicky things. Like I said, I almost killed mine. I added too much flour and it didn’t rise overnight. So I added and extra tablespoon of yeast and some warm water, re-mixed it, and let it rise all day (hence the extra time for fermentation). Thankfully, it revived itself and I was able to bake it at night, and enjoy with fried egg the next morning.

For this bread and other Danish recipes, check out:

http://www.mindspring.com/~cborgnaes/

But I think that you should add less rye meal during the first rising. And remember, patience is key. Let that bread dough get totally raunchy and semi-alcoholic. And don’t forget a fried or boiled egg. yum.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

