Bread: Rye—t on, sista!

Last Monday I was at Berkeley Bowl and I came across a bucket in the bulk section labeled ‘organic rye flour’. I couldn’t pass it up. So I bought a bag of it ($2.54 worth to be exact). I came home and went completely rye-crazy.

Rye is a very common bread in Northern Europe, especially in Germany and Scandinavia. In America, most breads characterized as rye contain caraway seeds, and sort of resemble the breads found containing pastrami sandwiches in delis. But in fact there exists a whole rainbow of different ryes: from the heavy Danish Blackbread, to the sweet tinged Swedish, to the German pumpernickel (which I’m pretty sure is german for daemon bowl movement…) Rye is a powerful bread, to say the least. It is thick, hearty, quite potent, and truly loving it is not for the faint of heart.

First I baked the “European” rye recipe from the amazing Cheese Board cookbook titled: Cheeseboard: The Collected Works. It’s a wonderful book of all the recipes invented by the local bakery/pizza co-op of the same name. It’s available for purchase at a Cheesboard near you (read: the one on Shattuck in Berkeley, California, USA). It turned out delicious, but more like the American version of Rye. This was the result:

IMG_2838

The next recipe I made was the Swedish version (one of the swedish versions, actually), called limpa. It is lightly sweet and soft, and flavored with molasses. I added a bit of cardamom to the original recipe. In all, yum. Som säger de i sverige: det smackar bra!

(forlåt, jag har ingen bild…maybe I’ll add one later)

Next came the danish version: Danish blackbread, gammelsurbrød. This one is almost entirely rye flour, and it is the thick, delicious hearty rye bread that I mentioned before. If you’ve ever had a smörgås, imagine the taste of the cracker part of the smörgås. Then make the texture thick, soft, and chewy instead of krispy and with a little more powerful flavor and you have gammelsurbrød.

IMG_2841

Next up is gammelsurbrød with ONLY rye meal. coarse rye meal. the bread of all real badasses. yea, we’ll see how that works out. I also may try finnish rieska with rye flour. I don’t know when I’ll get tired of rye, but for right now, it doesn’t look like any time in the near future.

Tags: , , , , , ,

One Response to “Bread: Rye—t on, sista!”

  1. wine information Says:

    Both breads look great! I would have eaten it hot with some butter! Cheers

Leave a Reply

